A prototype of an award-winning robotic fish design that filters water to trap micro plastics has now been tested in
New privacy features being rolled out this month mean that WhatsApp users can leave group chats silently.
Three New Privacy Features
WhatsApp has introduced three new privacy features: Leave Groups Silently, Choose Who Can See When You’re Online, and Screenshot Blocking For View Once Messages.
- Leave Groups Silently – For users of group chats. Instead of notifying the full group when leaving (which can be a little awkward), it’s only a case of the group admins needing to be notified.
- Choose Who Can See When You’re Online – Although WhatsApp says, “: Seeing when friends or family are online helping us feel connected to one another,” it acknowledges that there are times when users would prefer to keep their online presence private. This new feature allows users to select who can and can’t see when they’re online.
- Screenshot Blocking For View Once Messages – WhatsApp says this feature is essentially an added layer of protection to what is already “an incredibly popular” privacy feature. WhatsApp says it is currently testing this feature.
WhatsApp is keen to remind users that these features are in a long line of steps designed to protect their privacy, which has recently included disappearing messages that self-destruct, end-to-end encrypted backups when users want to save their chat history, 2-step verification, and the ability to block and report unwanted chats.